Local Committee


The Local Committee is established by The MILL Academy Board of Trustees and  has three key functions in their relationship with the school: Support, Challenge and Champion. The functions, duties and proceedings of the Local Committee are set out in The MILL Academy's Scheme of Delegation and Local Committee Terms of Reference. Each Local Committee volunteer plays an essential part in making sure that the committee as a whole works effectively. All Local Committee volunteers abide by a code of conduct which includes the seven principles of public life.

The Local Committee has three link volunteers for Safeguarding, Special Educational Needs and Disability and Grants such as  Pupil Premium. The Local  Committee meets three times a year.

The Chair of the Local  Committee is Kate Sutton.


Local Committee 2023/24

Parent Volunteers

Elected by parents/carers

Term of Office Ends 

Pecuniary and Personal Interests

Jenny Prowse

7 July 2021

6 July 2025








Academy        Appointed Volunteers

Appointed by Trustees             

Term of Office Ends                             

Pecuniary and Personal  Interests

Kate Sutton

Chair of the Committee

7 July 2021

6 July 2025

Communications Coordinator at GreenSquare Group











Staff volunteers               

Elected  by staff   

Term of        Office Ends

Pecuniary and Personal Interests               

Francis Crouch

18 September 2021

17 September 2025

Employee at Queen Emma's

Victoria Musson

Ex-offico post


Headteacher, Director of Education of The MILL Academy


Previous Local Committee Volunteers


Date appointed

End of office or stepped down date

Melanie Thomson

18 September 2017

17 September 2021

Amanda Dove

28 June 2018

27 June 2022

Andrea Roger

11 October 2021

29 November 2022

Saisudha Sivanand

11 February 2021

6 October 2023

Lucy Walker

7 July 2021

19 February 2024